Sign in Sign up

HireAYouthPastor.com

We're located in Columbia, SC

Sign in to contact St. John's Episcopal Church

This is a job in…

  • Family Ministry

Our church…

  • is Episcopal
  • has an average worship attendance of 240
Job

Job at St. John's Episcopal Church

Director of Family Ministries

Job Description

Director of Family Ministries Search

St. John’s seeks a full-time Director of Family Ministries who will develop, coordinate, and guide effective ministry relationships, formation, and programs for our children, teenagers, and their families. Ours is a vibrant, traditional parish located in the Shandon neighborhood, near the University of South Carolina and the city’s centers of arts, culture, and athletics. A Bachelor’s degree is required along with experience in areas of pastoral and administrative ministries such as Christian formation, childhood and adolescent development, youth ministry, etc.

Qualified candidates:

-will display obvious gifts for engaging and equipping volunteers; -will manifest joy working with children, teenagers, and their families; -will have the ability to create an exciting and welcoming learning environment; -will be adept and proficient in all relevant areas of personal, written, and electronic communication and social media; -will be highly organized and creative; and will be familiar with and embrace the tradition and teaching of the Episcopal Church.

For a full job description, email Michelle Rabon at [email protected] Email resume with cover letter to the Rev. Nicholas Beasley at [email protected] Review of applications will begin immediately.

St. John's Episcopal Church

In 1911, a group of citizens determined an Episcopal Church was needed in Shandon, Columbia's first suburb. Chartered on March 18, 1912, St. John's Episcopal Church purchased a ¾ acre lot on the corner of Wheat and Holly Streets. The first church building was constructed facing Holly Street (approximately where the parking lot is located today). This building served as both the sanctuary and parish hall until the present church building was completed in 1926.

In May 1945, St. John's paid off its mortgage and began a period of growth in both membership and facilities. In 1949, the brick portion of Heyward Hall was built and in 1956 the granite section of Heyward Hall and the narthex of the church were constructed. The John MacReadie Barr Christian Life Center was completed in 1993 providing space for basketball, parish meetings, a formal dining room and a well-equipped kitchen. In 2012, the church started a Restoration & Repair project, complete with a new HVAC and audio system, new narthex roof, copper gutters, stonework and stained glass repairs, as well as, interior painting, and new velvet kneelers. During the project, the Memorial Garden was given a needed facelift and the columbarium was upgraded. The Restoration & Repair Project was completed just after our Centennial Year celebration in 2013.

Today, St. John’s, Shandon is a congregation numbering about 1,300 baptized members of all ages, roughly 800 of whom we consider "communicants". Our many ministries seek to serve our Lord Jesus Christ and his people, and to bring glory to God our Father, under the guidance and power of the Holy Spirit.